Sign In Forgot Password



Under the guidance of Rabbi Nati Helfgot, Netivot Shalom’s Adult Education Committee provides high-caliber learning opportunities to its members and to the community at large. We are proud to have many talented and learned teachers among our membership. Currently, we offer a weekly Gemara and Nach shiur, along with regular Pirkei Avot and topical shiurim. In addition, in preparation for the the holiday seasons, we organize Shabbat afternoon shiurim.

Thanks to the generosity of Abraham and Sheila Schlussel, we have the Abraham & Sheila Schlussel Learning Institute, which brings special programs and distinguished speakers. Scholars-in-residence under this program have included Rabbi David Silber and Rabbi Dr. David Flatto, and special programs, such as sexual Ethics and Modern Orthodoxy, featuring Dr. Michelle Friedman and Dr. Jennie Rosenfeld, and Meaning, Music and Poetry: A Closer Look at Tefillah, with Rabbi Elie Kaunfer and Joey Weisenberg of Mechon Hadar.

What sets Netivot Shalom’s Adult Education program apart is its stated mission to provide meaningful learning opportunities to all members of the community. Child care is always available during Shabbat shiurim and parallel youth programming is frequently offered on related topics. We recognize that learning is most meaningful when it can be shared by the entire family and to that end, we strive to create an integrated, inclusive space for family-friendly learning.

A wide variety of speakers come to Netivot Shalom. Recent speakers and scholars-in-residence include:

  • Ms. Wendy Amsellem
  • Professor Gershon Bacon
  • Dr. Edward Breuer
  • Rabbi Michael Broyde
  • Rabbi Yitz Etshalom
  • Professor Steven Fine
  • Sylvia Barack Fishman
  • Rabbi Jeff Fox
  • Prof. Deena Grant
  • Rabbi Shalom Hammer
  • Rabbi Tully Harcsztark
  • Dr. Maya Katz
  • Rabbi Ysoscher Katz
  • Ms. Judy Klitsner
  • Dr. Elli Kranzler
  • HaRav Aharon Lichtenstein z"l
  • Rabbi Menachem Leibtag
  • Rabbi Dov Linzer
  • MK Dov Lipman
  • Ms. Miriam Reisler
  • Dr. Ellie Schainker
  • Ms. Lisa Schlaff
  • Rabbi Yair Silverman
  • Rabbi Professor Daniel Sperber
  • Ms. Shuli Taubes
  • Professor Miryam Z. Wahrman
Mon, July 15 2024 9 Tammuz 5784